• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Tuning help

ketch22

SH Member
Ok guru’s, I’ve been tuning my bows for a few years now but I am now stumped. I switched up arrows this year for something heavier. Yes, I’m still within the spine chart so I’m ok there.

Bow: Hoyt Tenacity master cam
Draw weight: 60
Draw length: 29
ATA: 36
Brace Height: 6-1/2
Cams are in time
Release type: cobra trigger release
Rest: whisker biscuit
Arrows: day six gear 350 spine
Outsert: 50G
Tip: 125 (I also have 100’s)

I took some bare shaft arrows and began paper tuning. I had between 1/4-1/2 inch tail high, tail right tear. I added one twist to each right side of my yokes, it took the right tear out. I bumped the rest up a hair, no change. I bumped it one more time and now I’m getting a 2 inch tear right that’s still about 1/4 inch high.

Obviously I’m going to bump the rest back to where it was, but before I go any further, is there something I’m missing here? I’m stumped and I don’t want to start changing more things and chasing my tail.

No nock pinch, it was at 90° before I bumped the rest.

DDFAA1A2-518D-494C-ABF0-CE3AF8FC0D02.jpeg
The black arrows are the the fletched ones I was messing with. (I had more without fletching). At this point, I’ll probably just settle for close enough, fletch them and start shooting, then jump into broad head tuning.

Tune with a bareshaft up close (7yards) through paper and get that to a bullet hole, use the same bare shaft.