• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Wet rope rappeling

devildog

So I had to rappel with the Safeguard in the rain for the first time. I use the Canyon 9mm rope and after it gets wet rappelling is not smooth, the rope will give a few inches at a time and is really jerky. I have a lot of rappelling experience from the military and it was still pretty weird feeling. Just wanted to warn everyone before they have to do it.

So I had to rappel with the Safeguard in the rain for the first time. I use the Canyon 9mm rope and after it gets wet rappelling is not smooth, the rope will give a few inches at a time and is really jerky. I have a lot of rappelling experience from the military and it was still pretty weird feeling. Just wanted to warn everyone before they have to do it.

Which canyon rope are you using? Elite or C-IV? Thanks for the heads up. If they’re all jerky when wet I’ll go back to 8mm.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Simple to not let it get wet, should be able to keep it covered even while going down.

Simple to not let it get wet, should be able to keep it covered even while going down.

I tend to use my rapell rope as a tether when one sticking. I need to consciously think to use my tether when wet out and save my rapell rope for the trip down.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk