• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Who has seen more deer since switching to a saddle?

coolhand78

Just asking the question in the thread title. I hunt a large area of public land (10,000+ acres?) in north-central Wisconsin. Although I've been bowhunting for almost 15 years, I don't typically see a lot of deer every year. And not many bucks. I'm switching to a saddle this year to hopefully go back farther, deeper into the woods/swamps/marshes, getting into and through a lot of thick brush where I hope more of the deer are hiding. These are the places where I've found it very difficult to get to and setup with my climber.

So who has seen more deer (and got more kills) since switching to a saddle? I'd love to hear any other experiences you've had on big public land – thanks!

I see a ton less deer than I used to. it seems like I never could hunt where I want to. these days where I’m hunting is more for a one on one experience with the pope and young and I’ve seen a lot less deer but most of them are bucks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk