• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Disadvantages to saddle hunting

NICK060200

Im new to this concept, but like the idea. what am i not thinking of? what are the disadvantages to this set up? Im probably going to end up with a modded sit drag or similar type deal.

One thing i see mentioned a lot is "any tree" . is that really true? Im not seeing it as being possible and in fact i see where there are tress an adjustable hang on could get into that a saddle would probably not work. an example would be a tree that grows on an angle. the stand could sit on top of the limb/trunk where a saddle you would be dangling below it with no where to put your feet.

also the whole platform idea, im still trying to figure out what im going to do with that, but have any of you guys got set up in a tree that has a crook or branch where you dont use a platform and just use whatever is growing from the tree to put your feet on?

thanks!

Like anything you have to pick your spot. A Tree Seat is certainly more versatile. I killed a buck some 20 years ago by tying 3 skinny pines together at the top. I had a screw in in 2 of the trees for my feet. When I leaned into the shot , the whole contraption swayed so far that I was nearly on top of the deer. Right in my range.

Im new to this concept, but like the idea. what am i not thinking of? what are the disadvantages to this set up? Im probably going to end up with a modded sit drag or similar type deal.