• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Saddle Hunters! New Way to Climb!

sampotter

If someone has seen this before, don't hesitate to say so.

I've been hunting from a saddle since 2007. First it was the Tree Saddle and now the Guido's Web for comfort reasons. I am a mobile hunter and sit in a different tree than I've ever hunted out of before 90+% of the time. I've tried climbing spurs, tie-on tree steps, and screw in steps. I always gravitate back towards the screw in steps because they are reliable. I don't like the damage they do to the tree, their weight (and bulk), and of course there's always the ridiculous noise factor. I always take them out of my pouch like I am disarming a bomb, but every once in a while I screw up and that unmistakable metallic "clink" echoes through the woods. With much idle time hanging out in the tree tops, I came up with the idea of using nothing but rope to ascend a tree.