• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Setting up ??

JEEF

Hi fellow hunters,

I'm very new to the saddle hunting community but am already obsessed. During my late scouting trips I've been practicing climbing and getting set up in my saddle using 4 LW sticks + a modified XOP seat platform. Already I feel like a pro with the ascent being able to get 20' up in around 5 mins but I run into issues as soon as I'm up there. I have the platform + preset whoopie sling in the main part of my pack on my back along with my bow/pack hangar; my issue is not knowing what the best order is to do things, so far this is my best:

1. Remove backpack, pull out platform, (awkwardly) put backpack back on, set up platform.
2. Stand on platform, set up tree sling connection as high as I can reach - disconnect lineman's belt.
3. Remove backpack for a final time, put bow/pack hangar at head height, hang backpack and finally pull up bow.

I realize it's probably just practice makes perfect as most things are but I just want to make sure I'm practicing the right way!

P.S. How far away from the tree do you keep yourselves with the lineman's belt? I feel I might be a little too far because my legs get fairly fatigued just standing on the sticks...

Thanks,
Jeff

I have been thinking about this also. I just picked up a TL saddle and in the process of ordering parts for my XOP platform.