• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Linesman belt instead of linesman rope, input please

white03

So I'm very new to saddle hunting, but I hated using a prussic knot on my linesman rope. Too hard to adjust with only one hand

I know there are other options to make a linesman rope easier to adjust with one hand, but I started using a linesman belt (see picture below) on my last couple climbs. It's super easy to adjust and might even be stronger than a rope. Other than being a little more difficult to make into a daisy chain for storage, I may decide to keep using it.

I would appreciate any input or feedback on using a linesman belt instead of a lineman rope.

Attachments

• linesmanbelt.png
    linesmanbelt.png
    706.5 KB · Views: 32
I hear you with not liking prusik's on your lineman rope. It's for this reason why I switched over to using a Ropeman 1 on my lineman rope. Makes adjustments super easy and 1 handed. As for using a belt, I personally wouldn't but that's just me. If it works for you, it's fine.

David

Sent from my moto g power (2022) using Tapatalk

I use a prusik for my lineman's. I don't usually put enough pressure to lock it down hard, but I just rotate the knot so I can push the "cross over loop" (for lack of a better term) to loosen it slightly. It takes some practice to find the easiest way for you to do it. Using a rope instead of a belt is going to save you weight and bulk.