• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

10 Climbing Safety Considerations/Best Practices

elk yinzer

SH Member
In light of all the recent discussion about climbing safety I thought I would leave some thoughts about reasonable best practices. Not meant to be comprehensive, just trying to make the conversation more productive.

I am not an expert. My most significant qualification is probably that I have overcome a pretty extreme fear of heights when I was younger to be able to hunt from trees and trust my gear. I've long chased a better way to climb and have tried just about every climbing method fad that has come and gone on SH over the past 5 years or so from some that work well to some that I consider super sketchy.

Planning and practice

1) Know your capabilities and what you are getting into

Any time you leave the ground you could die. Accept that fact and take a very honest self-assessment of any factors that could contribute to that risk--physical fitness, coordination, knowledge, etc. Know that many advanced climbing techiques are not considered appropriate for beginners or those lacking phyiscal fitness or coordination.