• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Aerohunter Kestrel Users

How many of you guys are still rocking with the Kestrel? I see all these new saddles that I wouldn't mind trying but can't see it being that big an improvement. I have been using the Kestrel since the 2018 season. I'm 5'11, 170 pounds and the size 1 seems to work great for me. I pretty much wear it in on every hunt, even if I'm trekking over a mile. I almost got in on the Merlin preorder hype but decided not to. Last year I did turn my stock rope bridge into an adjustable bridge, using the Aerohunter prusik and tender that used to be on my linemans (used a ropeman there since the beginning.) I did pick up the 8mm oplux tether and kong duck to reduce bulk before this season. The one saddle I wouldn't mind trying would be the original flex. But I can sit in my Kestrel for hours on end with no issues. I'm wondering if Aerohunter jumped the gun a bit discontinuing the Kestrel and original Flex.

I started with the 1st gen Flex, but ended up ordering the regular Kestrel and liking it more.

I’m still running the OG kestrel. Currently have a JX3 and have had a mantis. Think I’m going to make my own recon. Haven’t tried any of the new ones, but don’t see a reason why. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.