• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Amsteel Aider with Hose Step

SecretAgentMan

I’m totally new to saddle hunting. So much so, that I haven’t even had a sit yet. Still waiting on gear. But, in the meantime, I did DIY up a step aider. I fiddled with a strap and just never came out with something I liked when trying it out in the yard. And maybe this will fold up and pack a little better. So, here’s what I came up with. Probably been done before and better.

Made a dogbone out of 1/4” Amsteel. Triple locked Brummell and buried on each end. I’m sure the triple is overkill, but it makes me feel warm and cuddly inside. Where the buried end goes back into the rope, I wrapped a little tape around it mostly just to avoid my bury snagging and pulling out accidentally.

On one end is an 8-10” piece of spa tubing that’s approx. 1 3-4” OD. I was going to just use reinforced vinyl, but this stuff is sturdier, IMO. Found a scrap piece at Lowe’s for $3 or so. I think as it flattens with use, it’ll become an even better step. It was white, so I wrapped it with camo duct tape. On the end that loops around the top step of my stick, I tied a cobra knot with black paracord around the loop to help keep the the abrasion down on the Amsteel since that edge is relatively sharp. Could’ve put something onto the step itself to avoid this, but cobra knots are cool and all.