• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Can speed and lightest buy accuracy is target arrows built?

HuumanCreed

SH Member
Thinking about dialing my backup bow all the way down to 45-50lbs and my draw is 27DL. Using it solely to practice on my form and learning back tension release. So no broadheads or FOC concerns. Just maximum accuracy. I have no experience with tournament built or trend, but l am learning. Just wanted to get some advice from people that does archery outside of hunting, are lighter arrows more forgiving due to speed? I know they need to fly straight and tune well. But what is the basic principles in building a efficient arrow if you disregard the hunting needs? Or am l asking the wrong questions and not understanding something?

I think you’re asking the wrong questions here. if you want a bow solely to practice with and to make YOU a better shooter with your main hunting setup, why would you want a bow that was more accurate? Learning to shoot accurately with a less forgiving setup would make you a better shooter.

If you want to shoot 3D archery or indoor archery or something that’s a different story. Competing will make you much better with your bow (unless you get target panic!) and it’s a boatload of fun. Most serious 3D shoots will have a speed limit on bows because the higher speed allows more room for error on guessing yardages. Your bow won’t be shooting near that fast with your weight and draw…