• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Climb time - Setup time

Bowtie747

SH Member
Hey guys I’m new to saddle hunting as this is my first post! Super excited to hunt out of a saddle this year. I’ve seen the question asked a million times on here and don’t usually see a more exact response. Thought I’d throw my lack of experience out there so newbies like myself could get an idea of how long it takes to be setup in a tree ready to hunt.

So I just timed myself from walk in ready. Meaning sticks strapped together, saddle in pack, or everything on me. My climb time was 8 minutes and 30 seconds to be tethered to the tree. Ready to hunt bow up and locked and loaded id say around 10 or so minutes.

Keep in my ive done hang and hunts with a treestand last year but this is my first ground to saddle full setup time. Also this is taking my time, being quiet, safety double checking everything and on the tree I’m in several transitions using a second linesman belt around branches. So that I’m belted off at all times.
Maybe this helps, maybe it doesn’t. I’d like to see climb times of guys being safe but that have more experience with their setups. Yes, I know that saftey is more important than time but as I mentioned I was being safe and slow. Thanks! Hope this helps someone