• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Climbing spikes

powerfudge

Hey guys,

I'm really considering climbing spikes as my main method of climbing. I have never used tree spikes before, but I really like the idea of how light and versatile that they are. Just a question to some of you tree spike pros. What are your favorite type of tree climbing spikes and what would you recommend to a newbie like myself? Just looking for as much information as I can find before I bite the bullet and pick up a pair.

There are many manufacturers along with several different pad options. Some light, some heavy. Research,purchase and practice. You'll be proficient in no time. And don't worry about the trees. They will be fine.

$300 for Climb Rite aluminum spurs with aluminum pads. Yikes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

$300 for Climb Rite aluminum spurs with aluminum pads. Yikes.

Does anyone have a link to Climb Rite Aluminum Spurs w/ Aluminum pads? I cannot seem to find them with the aluminum pad option. Thanks in advance. (Also, in reading up about other options, I see that Gecko's are rated to 240lbs. I'm right at that limit an over with gear....i'm guessing not a good idea to ignore that rating but wanted thoughts) . Thanks all.