• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Competing with dog hunters

Tac2d

So I’m a very novice hunter. I only have public land available to me in eastern NC. My question to you all is how do you compete with dog hunters? It’s like the Wild West on a weekend on public land with dogs running. Any suggestions?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm in NC too. In uwharrie once the dog hunters start showing up during gun season I try to use that to my advantage and get there way before them on the opposite side of the bedding/fields I know they will be at so hopefully they push deer my way. I haven't come up with a better use for them. No matter how far you get away from they you can always hear them yelling and cheering on their yelping dogs. Dog hunting and no hunting on Sundays are the only two laws I'd change if I could here...

I'm in NC too. In uwharrie once the dog hunters start showing up during gun season I try to use that to my advantage and get there way before them on the opposite side of the bedding/fields I know they will be at so hopefully they push deer my way. I haven't come up with a better use for them. No matter how far you get away from they you can always hear them yelling and cheering on their yelping dogs. Dog hunting and no hunting on Sundays are the only two laws I'd change if I could here...