• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Daisy chains

sdoyle1

I’ve got hawk helium sticks. Jx3 shows up tomorrow. Ready to start practicing climbing. I’ve never used sticks before. I want to use daisy chains. I’ve already made one just to get the hang of it. I’m wondering what everyone thinks the finished length should be. I’m ready to make some more. There is lots of public around where I hunt so I could be in lots of different trees.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I’ve got hawk helium sticks. Jx3 shows up tomorrow. Ready to start practicing climbing. I’ve never used sticks before. I want to use daisy chains. I’ve already made one just to get the hang of it. I’m wondering what everyone thinks the finished length should be. I’m ready to make some more. There is lots of public around where I hunt so I could be in lots of different trees.

It depends on where you hunt. You can hunt any tree with a saddle. That being said some trees are easier to hunt than others. I prefer smaller diameter trees with a fork if possible, but if all you have in your area is larger trees then......any port in a storm. If you are making daisy chains then it is easy to make them at a reasonable length and carry a pouch of extensions that you can girth hitch to the daisy chains if necessary.