• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Do I Need A Tether

Hoyt Guy

Hey fellow hunters! I’m new to this, I’ve never hunted out of a saddle before. I actually just got mine in the mail today! Anyway, I’m really excited and trying to figure out what all I’m gonna need to do this. My question is: if I’m climbing SRT and setting up below where my climbing rope is tied on the tree, do I need a tether? Can I just remain hooked on my climbing rope and use it as my tether? Sorry for my ignorance and thanks in advance for your advice! I appreciate it!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lots of guys do it that way. I did myself for a couple of years. The only advice I'll offer for doing that is, depending on what your hanging on, make sure it can't release inadvertently and send you to the ground. There's no integral stopper knot on your SRT rope. When I was doing it I was hanging off a GriGri and I tied a slip knot in my rope directly under the GriGri and looped it into the bridge carabiner. That way if the GriGri ever uncammed it would only go a couple inches to the slip knot. When I got ready to get down I would remove the loop from the biner, pull out the slip knot and I was ready to rappel.