• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Downsizing/Simplifying Guidance

htr2133

I am new to saddle hunting but have been mobile-hunting w/ a stand for several years. I use WE Stepps with a "knaider" and "swaider". I have a diy lineman's belt w Ropeman1 and a Tethrd Tether at this time.

I would like to start assembling and then practicing to transition to rappelling down and one-sticking for ascending. I am looking for guidance on downsizing my ropes and removing mechanical ascenders from my system. I am a little overwhelmed as I don't have a background in climbing, knots, or rappelling.

What are some recommended, ideally metal-free, hitches for rappelling down? Munter or Super Munter for example?
What are some recommended rapel rope/tether attachment method that is retrievable? Saddle Hunter's Hitch w/Remote Release?
What are some recommended, one-hand adjustable ascender (self-tending) knots to replace my Ropeman1? Compact JRB Ascender Hitch?

I am working my way through JRB's YT Playlists and learning a ton. But, there may be some simple go-to knots, hitches and techniques I am missing. Or am I on the right track?

My main goal is to end up with a safe, minimalist system that relies on ropes, knots, and hitches vs. the mechanical or metal accessories. I will be practicing at home this fall through spring to hunt next fall. I'm sticking with what I know for now for this season.

Thanks!