• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Falls

David Kretschmar

SH Member
I am new to saddle hunting, so new that I don’t have a setup yet! Hope to hunt a lot from a saddle this fall though.

I keep hearing that hunting from a saddle is very safe, and falls are rare. Comfort, safety and mobility are what are drawing me to this way of hunting. My question is, have you fallen , or do you know of someone that has fallen while using a saddle, and if so, what was the cause. I’m trying to learn here and trying to minimize mistakes in the process. (I have fallen while hanging a hangon stand and would rather not go through that experience again.)

Thanks,
David

I have not fallen from a treestand or a saddle in 30 plus years of hunting. Granted I was lucky for a while as back in the days there really wasn't safety equipment. My opinion if you use some common sense and follow good safety practices then it is extremely safe. Most accidents are caused by taking shortcuts, not using equipment properly or the proper equipment, or using equipment that is damaged.

I am new to saddle hunting, so new that I don’t have a setup yet! Hope to hunt a lot from a saddle this fall though.