• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

First Stick for Single Stick Climbing - Best configuration

Cvan1971man

Hey guys, I am new to the saddle hunting world. There are a lot of different stick manufacturers out there.

My question is on the configuration of it. I have been looking at making a short stick - 12-15" in length with one double step on the bottom / no top double step.

I have seen several guys running this type of setup - most are customized. The one manufactured this way is the Shikar Mini.

I realize that each person is going to have their preference. I am looking for the downsides of having a short (12-15") stick as well as only having a bottom double step.

I appreciate your input.

Attachments

• SHIKAR_MINI_main__65877.1587397707.jpg
    SHIKAR_MINI_main__65877.1587397707.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 61
I wouldn’t use the Shikar mini especially just starting out. If you are building your dedicated 1 sticking stick I recommend a 15” stick.

If you just want to try it out. Just modify a stick you have