• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Gear Pull Up Rope tricks?

Warthog HJ

Who has some good tricks for keeping your pull up rope from being a tangled mess in your pack or a gear bag? I'm not sure I want to go the Doyle's route, but I suppose it's a strong choice eventually. I'm new to the saddle hunting system and need to learn some tricks for organizing all of the ropes.

Try to stay away from really small rope seems to tangle easier.
But With larger rope comes bulk so not sure that helps.
This year I plan to use a bow sling and take the bow up as I go.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I haven't used a pullup rope in 20yrs ...(works for some though) I find it way easier to carry bow on my back pack whether its my tenzing 2220 or my little camelback. I walk in with my bow in my hand during a day/evening hunt with my sticks or LW handclimber on my back. Get to the tree,Climbing method comes off and bow goes on my back. Walking in the dark to a morning spot,everything is on my back....So simple,quiet and fast....Give it a try.

I use a larger diameter rope and haven't had any issues with it as long as I store it the way that I know that I need to. Gone are the days of hooking heavy equipment to a small diameter pull rope after spending 30 minutes trying to get the knots out.