• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Getting your gear up the tree

OklahomaDeerAddict

Hey guys, this is my first post here. I’m new to saddle hunting this year. I’m anxiously waiting for my Mantis but @nlrwrangler has been kind enough to loan me his kestrel to practice with and set trees (or should I say his sons’ kestrel).

My question is this: How do you prefer to get your bow/gun/gear up into the tree with you?

So far I have pulled it up, strapped it to a pack and slung it while practicing in the backyard. I tend to like the pack method most but was wanting some input. Or maybe I just want you guys to talk me into or out of a new backpack! What do you do/prefer?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Good question, one of the final things I have refined. For now I've kinda settled on my bow strapped to my pack and platform on a pull-up rope.

In a hang on it's reversed because I have the backpack straps. Without wanting to put those on my saddle platform I haven't settled on a good way to transport it up quietly. The way it straps to my pack just is not easy/silent access 20 feet up a tree hanging from a linemans.

Good question, one of the final things I have refined. For now I've kinda settled on my bow strapped to my pack and platform on a pull-up rope.