• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

How do you silence this stuff?

arrowchukker

Newbie here.
I’m one sticking and rappelling down with a figure 8. I use an EDP platform.
What do you use to silence the metal to metal contact? Like the buckle on the EDP or the figure 8 and carabiners?

I use camo vet tape on all my carabiners. I use stealth strips on buckles. Vet tape stretches really nice so it works great for curves.

Just make sure not to use any vet tape on where rope will make contact or it won’t slide very well.

I use camo vet tape on all my carabiners. I use stealth strips on buckles. Vet tape stretches really nice so it works great for curves.

Just make sure not to use any vet tape on where rope will make contact or it won’t slide very well.
Yep!! This ^^^^^^^

Just to add a suggestion for using the vet wrap. Someone else suggested cutting the 4" roll in half for easier wrapping. I did that and cut the 2" roll in half again with scissors to the length I needed. Wrapped very well around the curves, sticks well and does a good job of quieting things down.

Just to add a suggestion for using the vet wrap. Someone else suggested cutting the 4" roll in half for easier wrapping. I did that and cut the 2" roll in half again with scissors to the length I needed. Wrapped very well around the curves, sticks well and does a good job of quieting things down.