• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Hybrid question

Zero One Actual

SH Member
I'm hunting in Virginia this week and have a hybrid question since this is my first time trying it.

My friend has a a pre hung Lone Wolf hang on. I have a dryad drey. My question is this:

He already has the stand facing the proper direction to shoot from standing or the seated position with my back to the tree. So if I want to use the saddle also, then I'd be facing the tree and potentially have the deer coming from my back. Is this correct? That seems incorrect. What am I setting up wrong or doing wrong to try the hybrid style?

Last edited:
If it’s a climber can’t u just walk it around the tree to fit your needs?

Yea when I’m in “hybrid” mode I set my stand up like u would a normal saddle platform. Facing the tree.

I have had sets where I use it like a normal stand and my back is to the tree. The safety police wouldn’t like this as I a tiny bit of slack in my system. Since I have to let my tether out a bit to sit down. It’s very minimal amount slack.

If it’s a climber can’t u just walk it around the tree to fit your needs?

Yea when I’m in “hybrid” mode I set my stand up like u would a normal saddle platform. Facing the tree.