• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Looking for some insight regarding arrow trajectory

AU67Skeeter

Ok here goes; I've been shooting a Mathews z7 extreme since 2012, with Carbon express maxima hunters 250's.
These arrows are 8.9gpi and fly @ 275-280fps per my chrony. Since these are not in production anymore and Im down to my last two. I started looking for some replacements. I found Easton Axis 5mm 340spine. @ 9.5gpi. These are flying @ 250-255fps and drop about 6-8" lower than the Maxima hunters at 25 yards. This seems a little much for such a minimal change in weight.

My calculated TAW:
Maxima Hunter= 367g @ 277fps
Easton axis= 387g @ 255fps

Would 20g of weight make that much difference in velocity/Trajectory?

Possible the 340 is two soft of a spine. You may be loosing some energy in the arrow.
Or arrow size/ noc is different and it's de-tuned. Paper check the new arrows for bad flight.
That's all I got.

Seems like it slowed down an awful lot for only 20gr . Most things say about 1 FPS for every 3 gr change in weight.

Victory RIP TKO are 8.7gpi @ 350 spine, if you're interested

I've shot both 125 grain and 150 grain field points on my arrows and didn't notice any difference at 20 yards if that helps at all.