• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Making the change.

treefox 1

SH Member
So, what made you switch over to saddle hunting ? I hunted this buck all season long tracked him close to his bedding area I was in a hang on in a double tree and he comes out at last light stands there at 12 yards looking the other way and I can't shoot because the other tree trunk is in the way, with a saddle it would have been an easy shot.lets hear some stories!

Im new to saddle hunting. I cant say that I made a switch, as I still plan to use the hang on and climber. Just trying to add to the toolbox! I hunt strictly public land and I see this as a great tool for those areas I have to canoe to get to, then walk a mile.

I had two two reasons for adding a saddle to my hunting options. On my lease in my the Mississippi Delta we have large sections of WRP. These areas have smaller young trees and lots of limbs. They make for use of a climbing stand or setting a lock on loud, time consuming and obtrusive. The saddle allows me to hunt these smaller trees easily. The second reason is that wind direction is always changing and the saddle allows me to hunt areas on multiple wind direction as long as access is possible on that wind.