• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

One stick vs DRT climbing

Bowmanmike

I am a newbie and don't have a saddle yet. I am trying to figure out what climbing method i will pursue first.
The main difference between the two is the throw bag i guess,would be a hassle for unprepped a.m. sits.
Does DRT limit the type of trees one can climb too? Aside from a tree not having a big enough branch at hunting height. Lots of branches are ok with both or is one easier than the other?

I am a newbie and don't have a saddle yet. I am trying to figure out what climbing method i will pursue first.
The main difference between the two is the throw bag i guess,would be a hassle for unprepped a.m. sits.
Does DRT limit the type of trees one can climb too? Aside from a tree not having a big enough branch at hunting height. Lots of branches are ok with both or is one easier than the other?

For DRT you need a tree with a branch or crotch strong enough to support your weight.

I carry a single stick and a 30’ tether. I either stick up or SRT up or a combination of techniques. At the top I ratchet the stick to the tree and put out a ring of steps.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I carry a single stick and a 30’ tether. I either stick up or SRT up or a combination of techniques. At the top I ratchet the stick to the tree and put out a ring of steps.

What do you mean by "ratchet the stick"?