• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

One sticking in leaning trees

John 35

I’ve tried it and hated it. I made a one stick out of a cut down hawk, and I’ve been trying it out in different trees. In straight trees it’s fairly easy even though I’m new to it. In leaners I feel like I’m going to fall off to the side going up the aider, and I can’t let go of the stick to take slack out of my tether or advance it up the tree until I get off the aider. How do you one sticking veterans out there do it? I think getting that much slack in my tether is asking for trouble.

Not a vet by any means, maybe 50 climbs total under my belt.

If I'm working a leaner I definitely use my lineman. I also climb on the high side, contrary to a lot of folks preference. Are you digging you're toe into the trunk? Two or three step aider? Platform attached to stick?

I have the UP and once my foot hits the bottom step of the stick, I hook the platform with my calf for stability.

If it's a hard leaner I don't bother, but that hasn't hindered my hunting locations in my area.

I do my best not to fight gravity. Climb on the leaning side and whenever you get to hunting height you can swap around to the other side if that’s where you prefer to be.