• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Pulling the tether out of the tree after rappelling

DOMMA

Jan 20, 2019
I am new to 1-stick climbing. I am practicing and getting better. One of the issues I have is retrieving the tether/rappel rope out of tree after the climb. I am using DynaGlide tied to a string just behind the knot holding the Petzl Oval Screw Link.

Any rough bark or limbs is making retrieving my rope difficult. Is there any tricks, other than climbing smooth trees with no limbs?

TNSTAAFL

SH Member
May 16, 2018
Research JRB hitch and Saddle Hunters Hitch (remote release variant). Both available on JRB website and YouTube channel.

Reactions: Samcirrus

DOMMA

Jan 20, 2019
It looks like it works but might be a little complicated tying this knot in the dark. I suppose I could use a head lamp.

Reactions: Brocky

Jimdude

Jan 9, 2021
New Jersey
Tip: don’t stand at the base of the tree. Back away at least 5-10 feet from it. That made a significant difference for me. I use an aluminum carabiner behind the knot. I don’t know for sure but I think the ability for the pull point to be able to slide around may also have an effect.

DOMMA

Jan 20, 2019
It looks like it works but might be a little complicated tying this knot in the dark. I suppose I could use a head lamp.