• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Rain Gear?

oldsouth

Just want to throw this out there. I need some feedback on what everyone uses for rain gear. For years I brought out one of those Mossy Oak tree umbrellas and used that when it rains. It's not always the easiest to use when trying to hunt in good cover. Also this is my first year in a saddle and with the range the saddle gives me, the stationary umbrella will not do me any good. So back to my question, what kind of rain gear does everyone use? Does it really keep you dry?

@Anobody has some milspec Goretec for sale in the classifieds. In my opinion, it is hands-down the best at keeping anyone dry. It's noisy because it crinkles a little. But that's not an issue when it's already raining.

Mil spec packable it’s two things
Packable
Cheap but works

Thanks for the sale pitch, I saw the ad this morning and it's what sparked my interest to start this thread. Not really interested in buying any at the moment. Just looking for feedback and discussion on rain gear.

I think Sitka cloudburst is cream of the crop but not very packable. I have the Cabelas space rain in my pack for when I need to throw something on quick.

I’ve always used frogg toggs, but I do buy a new set every yearor two if I’m lucky...

Keeps me bone dry tho!
$35-45 bucks ain’t too bad either.