• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Saddle dump pouch

Halfstep

I am new to saddle hunting and looking at some dump pouches from EWO and noticed they have two sizes to choose from. One is 8x6x1.5 and the other is 12x9x1.5. Not sure which size to get. Don't want pouches bigger than necessary hanging from the saddle. Has anyone used the larger sized EWO pouches? I'm just looking to stay light and just carry the bare minimum like ropes, carabiners, descender, linemen and a few other necessities needed to climb/hunt/descend. Any other hunting items can be carried in a small backpack. Any good pouch suggestions would be welcome.

If you’re going to rappel down or you one stick and use your rappel rope as your tether I’d go with the larger one. Otherwise the smaller one should suffice for your LB and a couple of binders. These are good pouches by the way but I’ve now moved everything off my saddle and just daisy chain my LB which is permanently girth hitched to my left side. Depending on which pack I’m using, my tether is in either an outside pack pouch or a dump pouch attached to my pack. On the main pack I use I have a larger pouch that I switch out ropes/tethers/stick attachment ropes etc. depending on the climbing system I’m using.