• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Saddle Hunting Pack Post - What defines "the best" Saddle Hunting Pack?

BurntReynolds

I am a noob when it comes to saddle hunting, but I have a lengthy background spanning about 35 years in western big game hunting, backpacking, ice climbing and gear tinkering, and am trying to wade through a lot of great info on this forum as well as others about what constitutes "the best" saddle hunting pack. My plans are for next fall, when I can spend time dialing in the saddle, sticks, etc. and then complete the system with a pack.

I realize there is a separate thread dedicated to packs, but what I am more curious about is what specific FEATURES need to be part of a great saddle hunting pack?
Namely:
  • What is the maximum and minimum size? What is too small/too big?
  • How important is quiet fabric compared to durability/longevity of the pack/textile? (Fuzzy or quiet fabrics are just not as durable as woven textiles.)
  • Platform/stick carry options - what works well in most/all conditions?
  • Pockets - a few or tons everywhere?
  • Load Shelf for packing deer or larger gear/equipment - nice to have?
  • Camo? Solids? Does it matter? Which patterns really standout or are popular?
  • Price? (good quality saddles, platforms, etc. are not exactly cheap, so why cheap out on a pack? More of a question for the group.)
Any feedback, expertise, preferences, etc. would be greatly appreciated.