• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Saddle Safety

So this is my first year saddle hunting. Got about 15 sits or so in the Kestrel. Yesterday morning I was set up in a Beech tree. Of course it was raining pretty hard, so between the smooth bark and the rain it was pretty slippery. I got up using my silent approach steps without too much difficulty though. The problem was where I set up my ring of steps the trunk had a concave section so there was a 6" section where the strap wasn't contacting the tree. I just made sure no steps were in that spot. After 20 minutes or so I shifted my weight putting more side pressure on the steps, and of course one of them slid sideways into that section and loosened up the strap enough to actually unhook the boat buckle and hook. The amazing thing is, all it did was bring me up against the tree and all I had to do was reposition the ROS higher on the tree, readjust my tether, and I was good to go. The more I use this thing, the more safe and rock solid it feels.

Glad to hear your slip was just that. And you are ok. Both @Ontariofarmer and I have taken the true nest tea plunge so to speak. This is the only way I will get back into a tree. It took me a while to get the courage up to get back in a tree again. Safest way to hunt. 1 in 3 hunters fall. Most are not tied in.

I talked at length about the saddle or at least using a Rock Harness with friends at the hunt club I belong too.