• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Shotshell reloading

Jason Wandling

Does anyone here reload shotgun ammo? I’m thinking about getting into it for turkey and predator loads but I’m not sure if the expense is worth it. From my calculations I can load around 200 rounds for $125-150 not including the press which is another $70. I’m looking at the Lee press.

I have a MEC SizeMaster with 12ga and 10ga dies. I think I ran the numbers on target loads, and if you included the cost of hulls, it ended up costing MORE than just buying cases when they went on sale.

Then I tried running numbers on hunting loads, and those didn't really seem much cheaper either.

The conclusion I came to for 12 ga was that it wasn't worth getting into for saving money. If you're using a more niche caliber (say 28ga or .410) then yeah you can definitely save some cash.

I do think there's value in having it even for 12ga if you're looking to do an uncommonly found or unavailable loading. Say, #1 bismuth for waterfowl, or some crazy TSS loads for turkey hunting (though a few companies now offer TSS loads). As with a rifle, it is there if you want to find the best performing load for your gun.

For me, I kept my press for that reason, and for the fact that I think 10ga is going away.