• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

tether and rappel rope as one?

diuilin

I'm just getting started here, so maybe this is a dumb question. When one-sticking, I gather you go up the tree with the tether and the lineman's belt, right? So why not just go up with the rappel rope (one less piece of gear)? And then I might as well use that to haul up my gear as well?

I primarily use the one stick method with a 40' oplux rope as my rappel. I use that to go up the tree and move it as i go up. But I also have my short tether, lineman's belt and bridge. This way I can go around trees or whatever else i need to do.

I also had this same question. Seems like a good idea. Most people that don't use the same line is weather. If it gets wet or frozen it can be hazardous. But for the most part, its a good idea.

This video has been floating around but he has the system dialed. I will be giving this a try this season.

I primarily use the one stick method with a 40' oplux rope as my rappel. I use that to go up the tree and move it as i go up. But I also have my short tether, lineman's belt and bridge. This way I can go around trees or whatever else i need to do.
Thanks, I hadn't thought of the issue of mobility with a long rope dangling down.