• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Throw rope helper

Chimney7

I'm new to saddle hunting, this will be my first year, first year bowhunting as well. I'm somewhat of a knot/rope enthusiast so after making my saddle and researching ways to get into a tree, the single rope technique really caught my eye. I've been practicing and it is the most comfortable and what feels the safest for me. I do a fair amount of work at heights in my professional life, so I'm comfortable with trusting my gear. The only problem I've been having is getting the initial throw rope into a tree, and I've seen that appears to be the big hitch (ha) with the SRT. I've seen the throw bags that arborists use for their throw ropes, and being a hardcore DIYer I thought about how I could make one, thought about it for awhile and came up with something that I thought would be a little more practical for hunting and carrying around in a pack.