• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Tree work with hunting saddle

ShortFuse

I feel like this is a really dumb question, but I’ll ask anyway.

The more I climb, the more addicted I get. Does anyone know anyone or personally use their saddles for doing tree work. I’m a complete amateur to skill standards and obviously would seek a mentor to climb with to do the work, but is a hunting saddle adequate to do the job needed or are other manufacturers specific for the arborist industry the right play.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Don't know the answer but I've been eyeing the same thing. Got some dead limbs in some big oaks that I've been considering SRT'ing up and cutting them down from my saddle.

As a professional in the tree care industry for 22 + years and a saddle hunter i can definitely recommend using hunting saddles for hunting and tree care saddles for doing tree work. Overall the similarities are close to being the same although tree care saddles have different weight standards and aluminum d rings to aid in different weight distribution and rigging forces while maneuvering throughout the tree. Hunting saddles are pretty much designed for ascending and decending strait up and back down. If you are looking for tree industry equipment Treestuff.com is where I would look. Hope this is helpfull.