• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

What is your Drt setup ???

Im new to saddle hunting in general and have only bow hunted for a year. But I love the low entry cost, and minimal equipment needed to get into drt saddle hunting. I'd like to know everyones dry climbing and sitting equipment including rope length (rope, saddle, platform or ros, etc.).

Last edited:
Im new to saddle hunting in general and have only bow hunted for a year. But I love the low entry cost, and minimal equipment needed to get into drt saddle hunting. I'd like to know everyones dry climbing and sitting equipment including rope length (rope, saddle, platform or ros, etc.).
Have you tried DRT? The hip thrust is not as easy as a person who has been doing it for 30 years makes it seem. I tried it and could not climb hanging from a branch in free air. I later realized having your feet against a tree would make it easier. Once I went to SRT, I had no trouble and continue with that. I tried DRT later with a foot ascender but I could see no advantage over SRT.

I've tried drt with rock climbing rope. Never while hunting, but the movement didn't seem too hard or exerting but I'm also 18 and 150lbs

I've tried drt with rock climbing rope. Never while hunting, but the movement didn't seem too hard or exerting but I'm also 18 and 150lbs