• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Will Ozone weaken tethers and bridges?

Chickenhawk

I've read a post before that garments in a tote loaded with ozone will loose some elasticity. Not sure, I've never done this before. Anyone have any experience with ozone weakening tethers or bridges??

I have no experience with tethers and ropes but I do with clothes. I have had the elastic waist bands in long underwear, a pair of first lite kabab pants that had elastic in the back panel ,suspenders on Sitka fanatic pants and some stretchy hats all ruined by ozone.

I still use ozone on my gear but am very selective what goes in the bag and for how long. The first lite pants I didn’t even realize they had elastic / rubber in the waist band. Once the rubber breaks down a bit it off gases like crazy. Like burnt rubber smell.

Some companies like Sitka actually replaced the suspenders for free even though it was no fault of theirs. I would be careful.

I don't know for sure but I would not put my ropes in with ozone. I put mine in a scent free bag and I leave it at that.

I know the tethrd guys put their gear through a lifetime equivalent ozone test and their gear passed with flying colors.

Your question got me thinking. If it breaks down elastic, what does it do to your lungs?
Nothing good ! At least from the articles I looked up and read.

Everyone has to make their own risk assessment, but I have no concerns of ozone on my saddle, bridge or tether.