• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

How I boil horns… euro mount..

Topdog

SH Member
I’m no professional, but the past few years I started doing euro mounts and I have a pile of them, it’s cheap, easy, they don’t take up a ton of room, and if done right.. impressive, as I sit here today watching my pot boil I thought I would share my method, I’m sure there’s many methods, but this is what works for me.

I wrap the lower section with tin foil, and cover all of that with cheap black electrical tape from Harbor Freight, that’s the first thing I do.

Next up, I get all the brains out, a total pain in the ass but it must be done, I use a piece of wire with a small bend at the end, a coat hanger works too, just keep at it, there’s more than you think up in there, holding the rack upside down and letting gravity help as you twist and pull is the best, it sucks but it makes the rest of my process much easier. Pull all the eyes and junk behind them out, the more material you remove before the boiling process starts makes life easier, I get rid of the lower jaw as well, I’m sure it can be saved, I just prefer it off, and on this deer all this work is redundant because it’s getting mounted eventually, my taxidermist has a long wait so I’m boiling it for the time being while I wait for him, as per his advice.