• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

How long does it take you to set up?

Mitchell

I know this is not a race, and that safety comes first. But since I am a rookie this year, I would like to get some idea how long it takes you on average from the time you get to the tree until you are completely ready to go; that is bow in hanger and loaded, all gear where you want it, and ready to sit. Right now I would say it takes me close to 40 minutes. That seems slow to me. Curious.

Thanks

I feel like I’ve gotten pretty fast with my setup but I wish I was even faster. Cut out a lot of extras stuff I thought I needed but really didn’t. Haven’t timed it exactly but I’m pretty sure it’s about 12-15 min from arriving at tree to everything up and hanging (including my carcass).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Less than 20, just depends faster with sticks than bolts (unless it’s predrilled) then less than 10. Just stay safe & work out your system (you may have more than 1) shoot for 1 trip up tree w/o a lot of time at the bottom of the tree.

My first year as well, and the first few times was easily 40 + in the dark.
Last hang was probably about 20. Depending on the tree and how cold.

I go slow and using the one-stick climbing method I can usually be setup within 20-25 minutes or so. It takes longer if it’s colder weather and I’m having to add layers and such. If the tree is funky or I’m having to pass branches then it can take a bit longer.