• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Managing Climbing Sticks

GreenMtHunter

Hey Everyone, I'm new to the Saddle scene and finally got all my gear. I've been doing some practicing and am noticing that I'm having trouble managing my climbing sticks (Muddy Pro Climbing Stick) after getting on the first stick. Not sure how to handle the other three. I was curious to know how everyone approaches this. Carry less sticks? Is there an efficient way to attach them to me or my saddle? Photos of modifications or DIY projects always appreciated! Would also be interested in learning how folks are creating their own DIY Climbing aiders. Thanks ahead of time for helping the rookie, have fun out there!

I tied a loop of paranoid to my other 3 sticks and clip said loop to a carabiner thats ran through my molle loops. One on each side and one on the back.

Also, I created a continuous loop of amsteel as my CAYG aider I hang it over versa button and remove it after ascending it.

Probably the biggest reason I got Hawk helium’s was for the suction cup system. Walking in I strap the sticks together with just a cheap Walmart webbing buckle and also have a single cheap tree stand backpack strap on the top stick in the stack. I carry them slung over my shoulder usually but lately I think I will just strap the stack of sticks to the back of my pack.