• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

military crest with saddles and funnels?

raisins

SH Member
Dear All,

I'm new to the idea of the military crest. In hindsight, that is where I've often jumped bedding deer. Makes sense now.

I am about to go scout a pretty big piece of public land. There is a 1,500 acre area that is pretty remote and I expect low hunting pressure. I plan to walk the military crest of the various valleys while taking notes and marking points on my GPS map (iphone), etc. Let's say I come to a topographic funnel (hourglass pinchpoint) or a saddle....do you guys tend to hunt/scout the whole ridge of the pinch point/funnel or the whole saddle....or within these features, do you still concentrate on the military crest area of them?

I have a lot of ground to cover, I guess the best thing is to look at all parts of high value areas (funnels, etc) for sign. That will increase my scouting time and reduce the area I can cover perhaps. In general, how do you hunt saddles and topo funnels?

Thanks - R

I’m not an expert, but...

If you are walking the MC for let’s say a half mile, and you find 10 good pinch points, pick the best 1 or 2 with good access. You can go crazy chasing your tail looking for multiple trees.

I like the tops of draws/ditches, where they meet the MC.

Definitely do not mark everything you see or youll have a cluttered mess on a map. Mark only what is really significant in the grand scheme of the puzzle.