• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Ordering a new string

I'm new to traditional gear and am wondering about ordering new strings. I picked up an old Pearson Equalizer 7148 at a garage sale for $15 that didnt have a string. How do you determine the length a new string should be? Its marked 48", is it as simple as that? What is a good resource for ordering? Also, how do you choose type of string? Thanks in advance.

You will need Dacron for that bow amo is 48” so most likely it will be a 44” string. Depending on the bows out there it will be 3 to 4” less. Nice shooting ol school bow. 3 rivers archery is a great resource If I had any Dacron I would twist you up one

What's a good way to learn about types/differences/lingo or does it just come with experience?
I have volume 1 of this series...pretty good.
I also have a couple other good books at home, but their name escapes me at the moment. I will check later....

This is a good book, too. I have the version in this link but there is a later edition for a lot less money.

I'll have to get a copy of these, thanks.

I'm new to traditional gear and am wondering about ordering new strings. I picked up an old Pearson Equalizer 7148 at a garage sale for $15 that didnt have a string. How do you determine the length a new string should be? Its marked 48", is it as simple as that? What is a good resource for ordering? Also, how do you choose type of string? Thanks in advance.