• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Ropeman question

NWPA22

I ordered my Tethr'd Mantis saddle a couple months ago, still patiently waiting... ok not so patiently, anyway I am new to this and have a question for the group regarding the Ropeman vs the prusik knot on your tether. Being that the Ropeman is mechanical is there any concern that the device could break? I am not familiar with how it works but was wondering if this could be a failure point, vs a prusik knot that cinches down under pressure. Also if the Ropeman did fail would you still be connected to the tree?

My understanding is that the documented mode of failure is actually severing of the rope, and not destruction of the actual device. I believe this is the common method of failure across mechanical devices.

You're "supposed" to back it up according to common consensus here. According to the manufacturer, you're not supposed to use it for life support at all. I know I hunted with one sans-backup a few times, and I see a lot of pics of guys doing the same.

Some clip the tag end of their tether into their bridge. This protects against device breakage, but not against rope severing.

A ropeman is easier to adjust, and I still use one on my linemans. But I switched over to an 18kn austrialpin buckle and 18kn tubular webbing as my tether. I personally feel more comfortable with it. I would also feel comfortable with a good, old-fashioned friction knot.