• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

How To Use MadRock Safeguard

Hellir

I’m brand new to saddle hunting. I decided to go with the 1-stick/rappel method because I’ve rappelled before (a long time ago) and I liked that idea.

I just got my MR Safeguard in and was testing it out some. I noticed when I sit in the saddle and then stand to adjust or whatever, with all the slack in the rope, I can slide the madrock downward with no problem, just by grabbing the device and pulling downward. The rope just slides like nothing. Is that suppose to happen?

Also, I don’t have my tether/rappel rope yet so I have been practicing with my 11mm lineman’s belt I got from TETHRD. When trying to rappel down, it seems like I am having to use a LOT of strength to even get the safeguard to start rappelling at all. To the point where it’s really hard to find that begging motion and let it gently slide. I’m pulling and pulling and pulling and nothing is happening then it just drops!

Is this normal for this device or is it because I’m trying with a thicker rope? The MR says it’s rated for 8.9mm-11mm. Seems like it shouldn’t be that hard! Would it be easier with the Canyon C-IV 9mm (what I’m looking to get for my tether/rappel rope)?

Thanks, friends.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk