• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

SRT problems

Murph4028

Vendor Rep
Ok so I am still new to SRT and still working the kinks out. I really like climbing this way but if the issue I'm having can't get fixed I may have to reconsider my climbing method. So here's what's going on...

-Walk up to tree with pre set throw line already set

-I connect the tag end to the throw line and pull the rope up the tree

- I feed the other end of the throw line through the delta link on my girth hitch and continue to pull and my rope always gets snagged up right at the girth hitch or delta link. I've tried both. I've also tried connecting the throw line at the edge of the tag end of the rope and about 6 inches up the rope. Is there a trick to this I'm not seeing? Sometimes I can get it through the delta link and sometimes I can't. Either way it makes a lot of noise having to sling the rope back and forth trying to work it through and it's annoying to deal with.

Hmm, if I'm picturing what your describing right in my mind maybe some kind of sleeve that goes over where the two connect so there isn't an abrupt edge? I mean picture if you wrapped the transition with electrical tape there would be nothing to snag. I'm not suggesting electrical tape, that would suck to use. But a slip on slip off equivalent that would serve the same purpose.

If nothing else you've convinced me to get out there and real world test my setup sooner rather than later.