• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

The scrap yard may be calling for your delta link

Red Beard

SH Member
Saddle hunting is dangerous. People have died doing it. Know that if you hunt from an elevated position, there is a higher percentage of you not coming home to your loved ones than if you stay on the ground. Take the words/ideas of dudes on the internet with a grain of salt; very few of them are experts. I am not an expert. DO NOT run out and climb 20' to attempt what you see below. Some of the concepts you see below may be physically demanding in nature. DO NOT attempt what you see without assessing your own physical abilities and limitations. Think about it. Test it. Proceed with caution.

With that disclaimer out of the way, I'd like to toss out an idea for discussion. Every morning after my shower, I put on my clothes, fill my pockets, put on my watch and affix my bracelet to my wrist with... a jam knot.
20220917_132339.jpg

Thinking about that made me reflect on the frequency of which I employ the jam knot for various tasks and its overall effectiveness. Made me recall that a jam knot has never failed me. In fact (and interestingly saddle related), I used a jam knot last year to hold my knee pad to the tree.