• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

What Style Of Wrist Strap Release Do You Prefer And Why?

What Style Of Wrist Strap Release Do You Prefer And Why?

• Single Caliper

Votes: 2 5.9%
  • Double Caliper

Votes: 13 38.2%
  • Hook

Votes: 19 55.9%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

ricky racer

I just started shooting a compound bow again after 30 years of hunting with a stick bow. I've got an old Fletcher Concho style of release from 30 years ago that I've been using. I'm wanting to upgrade but I'm not sure which style of release to get. I'm not interested in a thumb, back tension or hinge release, I'm only interested in a wrist strap, index release. Help me decide which way to go.

I’ve got a true fire that is adjustable length and foldable. It’s like 90 bucks. I have been pretty satisfied with it for the last 4 years.

It’s a double caliper but I’m not sure I prefer that style. They say the others are more repeatable.

I have a Scott Archery caliper type.

My thoughts are to release without any side loading possible that may be given with a hook style...maybe I'm overthinking ?

My thoughts are to release without any side loading possible that may be given with a hook style...maybe I'm overthinking ?
Went with a Carter Quickie starting last season, but I do wonder about this.

Carter like mike 2. I like a wrist strap for hunting purposes and it’s as close to a handheld style trigger as I’ve seen in a wriststrap.