• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Best backpacks for saddle hunting?

iLOVEthehunt

I am new to saddle hunting and need to replace my backpack. I'm using a predator platform and four hawk helium sticks and want to be able to hook all of it to or carry it all in my pack. I am fairly minimalist so I don't need anything huge, but enough for my equipment plus binos, rangefinder, calls, knife, tags, etc. What backpacks do you like best for saddle hunting?

Im using an osprey stratus 24. I love it. Granted I bought it for fly fishing years ago and wasn't about to buy a camo backpack when I have a crap load of backpacks already. I'm carrying a predator platform, 3 hawk helium sticks and all the normal crap that goes up the tree with you.

Hill People Gear ‘Connor.’
e607921199c5c14af2329d8d8cb3c326.jpg

Another Kuiu vote. The ventures are awesome packs. I had one but switched to the icon pro 1850 which is the basically the same bag with different suspension and frame. This is the best pic I have of it
52b277c70a25cd7b9483d608bc534022.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Do you really need a camo backpack (asking, not sarcasm)? I have a hiking one that I love using and its solid black. Other than the backpack I'm all camo. Should I get a camo backpack?

Also, are you really going in with 6 sticks? Is that system with aiders? How high are you planning to go????
Hill People Gear ‘Connor.’
e607921199c5c14af2329d8d8cb3c326.jpg