• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

DIY lineman's belt and tether vs Tethrd

Amarty734

I am new to saddle hunting and am beginning to put together my setup. I am contemplating making my own lineman's belt and tether, or to just buy them from Tethrd when I get my mantis. They are pretty close in price actually when all is said and done. Here is a breakdown of what I have found:

DIY: from Wesspur-Samson Predator rope $1.08/ft x 20ft=$21.60, 5 inch sewn splice $25x2=$50 so total for rope is $71.60. Plus shipping $17.70. Total $89.30
from Amazon-3 pack Black Diamond Biners $30.06
DIY Total cost Linemans belt:$64.69, Tether:$54.67. The total price for DIY build of both is $119.36.

Tethrd cost: Lineman's belt(spliced rope,2 biners, prussik)-$59.99, Tether(spliced rope,1 biner, prussik)-$54.99. free shipping with mantis. So a total price of $114.98 with additional bonus of prussik knot on each.